Sharing food is the way of my people: Refrigerator Brownies

I had a family “lobsterfest” to attend today, so I had to bring a dessert to share.

I decided that the Refrigerator Bakery Brownies from The Live-In Kitchen looked… amazing.

Since my kitchen is not well stocked and I didn’t feel like making a trip to the grocery store, I made a few tweaks. My recipe is as follows:

For the brownies:

  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) “light” salted butter (I use Land o’Lakes — it is listed as “LOL Butter” on my receipts.)
  • 1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • an additional 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

I preheated my oven to 350*F and placed the rack in the upper third of the oven, just like the original recipe stated to do. I greased a foil lined 8 inch square baking pan, but skipped the flouring because I’m a lazy bear and always do. (I know they make spray oil with flour built in, but… eh.)

Then, in a mixing bowl, I combined the flour and baking soda and set that aside.

I brought two inches of water to a boil and placed my metal mixing bowl (from my kitchen aid) over the water. To the bowl, I added the stick of butter and 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips. Wait for that to melt, stirring it along the way. Then, once it is melted, smooth and well mixed, remove it from the heat. At this point, I added the sugars. Then you want to whisk in the eggs, the spare yolk and the vanilla. Add all the flour and fold it into the chocolate until it’s well incorporated. Add the other 1/2 chocolate chips, stir and pour the batter into the 8 inch pan.Bake for 25-30 minutes (or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out with moist crumbs clinging. Remove the brownies from the oven and allow to cool completely.Now, at this point you could just eat the brownies. They’d taste perfectly fine — like yummy, fudgy brownies. Howeverrrrr — there is a frosting recipe which I also adapted a wee bit.

For the frosting:

  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 4 tablespoons butter (I used pure butter for this because I had a half stick in the freezer.)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1-2 tablespoons milk

To make the frosting, pour the chocolate chips and plop the butter in a microwave safe bowl and nuke it in 20 second increments. Stir the goo between increments and continue this until all the chocolate is melted. Mix in the vanilla and salt, then add  the powdered sugar. Mix it up until it’s well incorporated and then add the milk a tiny dribble at a time, stirring constantly until the frosting is smooth and shiny. Spread the chocolate immediately on the cooled brownies and refrigerate until set or until you are ready to cut and serve.

 

These are actually one of the best brownies I’ve made from scratch. Even the un-iced brownie looked pretty tasty. Usually I get cake-like brownies, rather than fudgy ones. These seemed to be more fudgy than cake-like; this is likely due to all that butter. I’d like to make them again with coconut oil. (I need to buy more — I’m almost out.) It just seems more “healthy” that way. Or maybe half oil, half butter. Half-and-half substitutions usually work pretty well.

(I cut the brownies into 24 pieces, but 16 would be more reasonable. I also cut the outside edges off so they’d all be middle pieces; I kept the edges in my fridge for later. Ulterior motive, bitches.)

Leave a Reply

