Doughnut Buttermilk Bread Pudding

I’ve moved! (And my internet finally works thanks to the handy work of my upstairs neighbor!) In the process of trying to clean out my fridge/freezer to make moving less embarrassing, I came across a bunch of doughnuts I had frozen from the Fractured Prune. My aunt was nice enough to bring me a TON of doughnuts back from their beach trip and, being one person, I could only eat a few and still maintain my dignity. These are GOOD doughnuts. I couldn’t let them go to waste, so I froze them.

And there they sat. I’d open the fridge, really want one and then remember that I’d already consumed NFL player-level calories that day. So I’d sadly close the door.

Well, they were taking up a lot of freezer space in the ginormous Tupperware container, so I made a decision.

Bread pudding.

I took to the internet and found a recipe that sounded simple enough, but then realized I had no good milk. However, I have powdered buttermilk in my fridge. (BEST IDEA EVER, by the way. It lasts ages and you make as much as you need, as you need it!)

So, this was my take.

  • 6 glazed doughnuts cut into cubes (enough to fill a 8×8 or 9×9 pan)
  • 1 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup of stevia (or sugar)
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • a heavy sprinkling of cinnamon (to taste — I like cinnamon)

Fill the (greased) pan with doughnut cubes. In a bowl, mix buttermilk, eggs, stevia (or sugar), vanilla, nutmeg and cinnamon. Pour over doughnuts, poke the doughnut chunks around to coat. Allow mixture to absorb while you preheat the oven to 350*F.

Once the oven is preheated, bake for 40-50 minutes, until center is set/just a little jiggly. My got a little toasy after 40 minutes, but in a good way. Toasty, crunch topping!

Serve warm! (With ice cream, if that’s how you roll.)

Leave a Reply

